Sonia Delaunay

Sonia Delaunay, whose real name was Sarah Stern, was born in Gradizhsk, Ukraine, in 1885 and died in Paris in 1979. Sonia Delaunay studied drawing at the Karlsruhe Academy of Fine Arts at the turn of the XXth century before settling in Paris. Her world-famous work stands at the intersection between XXth century art and decorative arts. As a painter, she produced many canvases drawing from futurism, cubism and fauvism, where simple geometric shapes mix with the brightest colours. Modern at a time when art was looking for new paths, including through movements constantly questioning traditions, she formed friendships with the major artists of her day. All had a common goal: to infuse new energy into painting, make it better attuned to its time, more concerned with issues that had been neglected for too long. In partnership with her husband, Robert, she focused on a quest for chromatic purity that, like she did to movement, she could apply to colour.

Simultaneously, she continued to experiment in the area of interior decoration, staying true to her approach of shapes and colours. For her, this work was just as enriching as her usual fine arts practice, neither prevailing upon the other. She created mosaics, stained glass, ceramics. She threw herself into textile design, creating printed dresses inspired from her vision as an artist, and tapestries some of which would be woven by PINTON. Sonia Delaunay’s creations had such an impact that today’s international artists still refer to them.

When PINTON wished to revive its manufactory in Felletin, Sonia Delaunay was one of the first artists collaborating with the firm’s workshops. Delighted to discover a know-how that she ignored, she found in Felletin a new way to express her art. Her textile designs, like her paintings on canvas, take a new direction, between the legacy of the past and a focus on the present.

Alexander
Calder

Alexandra
Roussopoulos

Beatriz
Milhazes

Bruno
Fael

Danielle
Vochims

Dem189

Etel
Adnan

Fernand
Léger

Françoise
Quardon

Giulio
Paolini

Jean-Michel
Othoniel

Joe
Tilson

Johan
Creten

Jory
Pradelle

Julien
Colombier

Le Corbusier

Lionel Jadot

Marc
Couturier

Maria
Loizidou

Perrin
Perrin

Qubo
Gas

Roger Mühl

Sonia Delaunay

Sonia Delaunay, de son vrai nom Sarah Stern, est née à Gradizhsk en Ukraine en 1885. Elle décède à Paris en 1979. Sonia Delaunay étudie le dessin à la Karlsruhe Academy of Fine Arts à la naissance du XXe siècle pour s’établir ensuite à Paris. Son œuvre, reconnue dans le monde entier, est à la croisée de l’art du vingtième siècle et des arts décoratifs. Peintre, elle multiplie les toiles empreintes de futurisme, de cubisme et de fauvisme, où se mêlent les formes géométriques simples et les couleurs les plus vives. Moderne à une époque où l’art cherche de nouvelles voies, au travers notamment de courants qui remettent sans cesse en question les traditions, elle se lie d’amitié avec les grands artistes de son temps. Tous ont un objectif : redonner à la peinture un nouvel élan, plus ancré dans son époque, davantage tournée vers des préoccupations que l’on a trop négligées. En collaboration avec son mari, Robert, elle se concentre sur la recherche de la pureté chromatique comme sur celle du mouvement qu’elle pourrait donner à la couleur.

En parallèle, c’est dans le domaine de la décoration intérieure qu’elle poursuit ses expérimentations, toujours fidèle à sa manière d’aborder les formes et les couleurs. Pour elle, ce travail est tout aussi riche que sa pratique habituelle des Beaux-Arts, l’une ne prévalant pas sur l’autre. Ainsi elle réalise des mosaïques, des vitraux, des céramiques. Elle se lance dans le design textile en créant notamment des robes aux tissus imprimés, empreints de sa vision artistique et des tapisseries dont certaines seront tissées par PINTON. Les créations de Sonia Delaunay ont eu un tel impact qu’elles sont aujourd’hui encore des sources d’inspiration pour les artistes du monde entier.
A l’époque où PINTON souhaite donner une vie nouvelle à sa manufacture de Felletin, Sonia Delaunay est l’une des premières artistes à collaborer avec ses ateliers. Ravie de découvrir un savoir-faire qui lui est étranger, elle trouve à Felletin une nouvelle façon d’exprimer son art. Sa pratique du textile comme celle de la peinture sur toile prennent un nouvel élan, entre legs du passé et regard sur le présent.

Alexandre Calder

Alexander
Calder

Alexandra Roussopoulos

Alexandra
Roussopoulos

Beatriz Milhazes

Beatriz
Milhazes

Bruno Fael

Bruno
Fael

Danielle Vocchims

Danielle
Vochims

Artiste Pinton Dem 189

Dem189

Etel Adnan

Etel
Adnan

Fernand Léger

Fernand
Léger

Artiste Pinton Françoise Quardon

Françoise
Quardon

Giulio Paolini

Giulio
Paolini

Artiste Pinton Jean-Michel Othoniel

Jean-Michel
Othoniel

Joe (Joseph) Tilson

Joe
Tilson

Artiste Pinton Johan Creten

Johan
Creten

Jory Pradelle

Jory
Pradelle

Julien
Colombier

Le Corbusier,

Le Corbusier

Marc Couturier

Marc
Couturier

Artiste Pinton Maria Loizidou

Maria
Loizidou

Martine et Jacki Perrin

Perrin
Perrin

Artiste Pinton Qubo Gas

Qubo
Gas